SBMF - Call for papers




Abstract submission: Jun 05
Full paper submission: Jun 12
Author notification: Jul 25
Camera-ready version: Aug 06


Paper submission: Aug 01
Author notification: Aug 21
Camera-ready version: Aug 28


SBMF 2011: Call for Papers

14th Brazilian Symposium on Formal Methods

Supported by the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC)

São Paulo - SP, Brazil
September 26-28, 2011

*** News: Proceedings will be published in LNCS/Springer ***


SBMF 2011 is the fourteenth of a series of events devoted to the development, dissemination and use of formal methods for the construction of high-quality computational systems. It is now a well-established event, with an international reputation.

The symposium will be part of a larger event,

including as well as SBMF three other symposia:

  • 25th Brazilian Symposium on Software Engineering (SBES)
  • 15th Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages (SBLP)
  • 5th Brazilian Symposium on Software Components, Architectures and Reuse (SBCARS)

CBSoft will be held in São Paulo, an important city in research and development in both academic and industrial areas. São Paulo offers great possibilities for cultural, artistic and gastronomic tourism. Moreover it is a major hub, providing easy access to all other parts of Brazil and South America.

Invited Speakers

Catuscia Palamidessi, INRIA Saclay, France

John Harrison, Intel Corporation, USA


The aim of SBMF is to provide a venue for the presentation and discussion of high-quality papers, from researchers with a broad range of interests in formal methods, on recent developments in this field. The topics include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Well-founded specification and design languages;
  • Formal aspects of popular languages and methodologies;
  • Logics and semantics of programming- and specification languages;
  • Reusable domain theories;
  • Type systems and category theory in computer science;
  • Computational complexity of methods and models;
  • Computational models;
  • Rewriting systems;
  • Formal methods integration;
  • Formal methods for software/hardware development;
  • Formal methods applied to model-driven engineering;
  • Code generation;
  • Formal design methods;
  • Specification and modeling;
  • Abstraction, modularization and refinement techniques;
  • Program and test synthesis;
  • Techniques for correctness by construction;
  • Formal methods and models for objects, aspects and component systems;
  • Formal methods and models for real-time, hybrid and critical systems;
  • Formal methods and models for service-oriented systems;
  • Models of concurrency, security and mobility;
  • Model checking;
  • Theorem proving;
  • Static analysis;
  • Formal techniques for software testing;
  • Software certification;
  • Formal techniques for software inspection;
  • Teaching of, for and with formal methods;
  • Experience reports on the use of formal methods;
  • Industrial case studies;
  • Tools supporting the formal development of computational systems;
  • Development methodologies with formal foundations;
  • Software evolution based on formal methods.

Papers with a strong emphasis on Formal Methods, whether practical or theoretical, are invited for submission. They should present unpublished and original work that has a clear contribution to the state of the art on the theory and practice of formal methods. They should not be simultaneously submitted elsewhere.

Papers will be judged on the basis of originality, relevance, technical soundness and presentation quality. They should be written in English. There are two types of submissions:

  • Full papers: (max. 16 pages in LNCS format) should contain theory- or application-oriented results which must be original, significant, and sound; they will undergo a full reviewing process. Papers from industry should emphasize practical application of formal methods and/or report open challenges. The proceedings will be published in LNCS/Springer.
  • Short papers: (max. 6 pages in LNCS format) should describe recent research activities, practical experience, and preliminary results that are worth discussing. If accepted, they will be published as a Technical Report of University of São Paulo ( with an ISBN number available online.

Every accepted paper MUST have at least one author registered to the symposium by the time the camera-ready copy is submitted; the author is also expected to attend the symposium and present the paper.

Full Papers can be submitted via:

Short Papers can be submitted via:

Organizing Chairs

SBMF Chairs

  • Fátima L. S. Nunes Marques, EACH - USP
  • Ana Cristina Vieira de Melo, IME - USP

CBSoft Chairs

  • Marcelo Fantinato, EACH - USP (General Chair)
  • Luciano Silva, FCI - Mackenzie (Co-chair)

Program Committee Chairs

  • Adenilso Simao, ICMC - USP
  • Carroll Morgan, UNSW, Australia

Steering Committee

  • Adenilso Simao - ICMC-USP
  • Carroll Morgan - UNSW, Australia
  • David Naumann - Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
  • Jim Davies - University of Oxford, UK (Co-chair)
  • Jim Woodcock - University of York, UK
  • Leila Silva - UFS
  • Marcel Oliveira - UFRN (Co-chair)
  • Patricia Machado - UFCG
  • Rohit Gheyi - UFCG

Programme Committee

  • Aline Andrade (UFBA, Brazil)
  • David Aspinall (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Luis Barbosa (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
  • Michael Butler (University of Southampton, UK)
  • Andrew Butterfield (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Ana Cavalcanti (University of York, UK)
  • Marcio Cornelio (UFPE, Brazil)
  • Andrea Corradini (Università di Pisa, Italy)
  • Jim Davies (University of Oxford, UK)
  • David Deharbe (UFRN, Brazil)
  • Ewen Denney (RIACS/NASA, USA)
  • Clare Dixon (University of Liverpool, UK)
  • Jorge Figueiredo (UFCG, Brazil)
  • Rohit Gheyi (UFCG, Brazil)
  • Rolf Hennicker (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen, Germany)
  • Juliano Iyoda (UFPE, Brazil)
  • Gerald Luettgen (University of Bamberg, Germany)
  • Patricia Machado (UFCG, Brazil)
  • Ana Melo (USP, Brazil)
  • Stephan Merz (INRIA Lorraine, France)
  • Anamaria Moreira (UFRN, Brazil)
  • Alvaro Moreira (UFRGS, Brazil)
  • Arnaldo Moura (Unicamp, Brazil)
  • Alexandre Mota (UFPE, Brazil)
  • David Naumann (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Daltro Nunes (UFRGS, Brazil)
  • Jose Oliveira (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
  • Marcel Oliveira (UFRN, Brazil)
  • Alberto Pardo (Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay)
  • Alexandre Petrenko (CRIM, Canada)
  • Leila Ribeiro (UFRGS, Brazil)
  • Augusto Sampaio (UFPE, Brazil)
  • Leila Silva (UFSE, Brazil)
  • Heike Wehrheim (University of Paderborn, Germany)
  • Jim Woodcock (University of York, UK)