SBLP - Call for papers



Abstract submission (15 lines)
April 22, 2011
April 29, 2011

Full paper submission
April 29, 2011
May 06, 2011

Author notification
May 30, 2011
June 06, 2011

Camera-ready version
July 01, 2011
July 08, 2011


SBLP 2011: Call for Papers

15th Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages

Supported by the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC)

São Paulo - SP, Brazil
September 29-30, 2011


The 15th Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages, SBLP 2011, will be held in Sao Paulo, Brazil, between September 26th and 30th, 2011. SBLP provides a venue for researchers and practitioners interested in the fundamental principles and innovations in the design and implementation of programming languages and systems.

The symposium will be part of the 2nd Brazilian Conference on Software: Theory and Practice, CBSoft 2011,, which will host four well-established Brazilan symposia:

  • 25th Brazilian Symposium on Software Engineering (SBES)
  • 15th Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages (SBLP)
  • 14th Brazilian Symposium on Formal Methods (SBMF)
  • 5th Brazilian Symposium on Software Components, Architectures and Reuse (SBCARS)

SBLP 2011 invites authors to contribute with technical papers related (but not limited) to:

  • Program generation and transformation, including domain-specific languages and model-driven development in the context of programming languages.
  • Programming paradigms and styles, including functional, object-oriented, aspect-oriented, scripting languages, real-time, service-oriented, multithreaded, parallel, and distributed programming.
  • Formal semantics and theoretical foundations, including denotational, operational, algebraic and categorical approaches.
  • Program analysis and verification, including type systems, static analysis and abstract interpretation.
  • Programming language design and implementation, including new programming models, programming language environments, compilation and interpretation techniques.

Invited Speakers

José Luis Fiadeiro, Univ. of Leicester
Talk title: Service-oriented computing as a paradigm for programming dynamically reconfigurable software

Gary T. Leavens, Univ. of Central Florida
Talk title: Ptolemy: Taming Aspects with Explicit Event Announcement and Greybox Specifications


Submissions should be done using SBLP 2011 installation of the EasyChair conference management system at

Contributions should be written in Portuguese or English. We solicit papers that should fall into one of two different categories: full papers, with at most 15 pages, or short papers, with at most 5 pages. All papers should be prepared using the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) template, available at We encourage the submission of short papers reporting on master dissertations or doctoral theses at early stages of their development. All accepted papers, with at least one author registered in the conference, will be published in the conference proceedings.

As in previous editions, a journal special issue, with selected papers from accepted contributions, is anticipated. Selected papers from 2003 to 2008 editions of SBLP were published in special issues of the Journal of Universal Computer Science, by Springer. The post-proceedings of SBLP 2009 and 2010, also with selected papers from the conference proceedings, are being edited as special issues of Science of Computer Programming, published by Elsevier.

To be submitted along with the camera ready version: copyright assignment term.

Organizing Chairs

SBLP Chairs

  • Denise Stringhini, FCI - Mackenzie
  • Alfredo Goldman, IME - USP

CBSoft Chairs

  • Marcelo Fantinato, EACH - USP (General Chair)
  • Luciano Silva, FCI - Mackenzie (Co-chair)

Programme Chairs

  • Christiano Braga, UFF
  • José Luiz Fiadeiro, Univ. of Leicester

Programme Committee

  • Alberto Pardo, Univ. de La Republica
  • Alvaro Moreira, UFRGS
  • Andre Du Bois, UFPel
  • Alex Garcia, IME
  • Andre Santos, UFPE
  • Artur Boronat, Univ. of Leicester
  • Carlos Camarao, UFMG
  • Christiano Braga, UFF (co-chair)
  • Fernando Castor Filho, UFPE
  • Fernando Pereira, UFMG
  • Francisco Heron de Carvalho Junior, UFC
  • Jens Palsberg, UCLA
  • Joao Saraiva, Universidade do Minho
  • Johan Jeuring, Utrecht Univ.
  • Jonathan Aldrich, Carnegie Mellon Univ.
  • Jose Luiz Fiadeiro, Univ. of Leicester (co-chair)
  • Lucilia Figueiredo, UFOP
  • Luis Soares Barbosa, Univ. do Minho
  • Marcelo A. Maia, UFU
  • Marcelo d'Amorim, UFPE
  • Marco Tulio Valente, UFMG
  • Mariza A. S. Bigonha, UFMG
  • Martin A. Musicante, UFRN
  • Noemi Rodriguez, PUC-Rio
  • Paulo Borba, UFPE
  • Peter Mosses, Swansea University
  • Renato Cerqueira, PUC-Rio
  • Ricardo Massa, UFPE
  • Roberto S. Bigonha, UFMG
  • Roberto Ierusalimschy, PUC-Rio
  • Sandro Rigo, Unicamp
  • Sergio Soares, UFPE
  • Sergiu Dascalu, Univ. of Nevada
  • Simon Thompson, Univ. of Kent
  • Varmo Vene, Univ. de Tartu